A Spoonful of Sugar Helps the Side Effects Go Down

I know I’m not the only one who rolls my eyes when a drug commercial comes on. The fact that listing the side effects takes up most of the commercial time is humorous to me. Isn’t that reason enough not to take the drug? Apparently not.

I love a quick fix for my problems just as much as anyone else but the reality is, it just isn’t possible. And even if those magic little pills do make the original problem subside, the fact that it causes so many more problems just doesn’t make it seem worthwhile. So why are we so pill happy? Because we trust our doctors. They didn’t attend school for nearly a decade for nothing, right? The sad reality is many doctors are being bribed and influenced by big pharmaceutical companies. Don’t believe me? Here are a few things that might convince you:

Infographic published by Medical Billing & Coding: Doctors on Drugs

NY Times article: Payments to Doctors by Pharmaceutical Companies Raise Issues of Conflicts

NPR: Doctors Often Receive Payments From Drug Companies

Now, don’t get me wrong. There is a time and place for modern medicine and many lives have been saved by it. But the majority of symptoms we try to ‘cure’ with pills are usually things that are a result of poor lifestyle habits. These ailments show up after years of mistreating our bodies. Popping a pill, while continuing those habits, will only lead to more complications.

Getting to the root of what is causing the problem isn’t easy, especially if you are stuck in a comfortable poor diet/no exercise routine. Believe me, I’ve been there. The whole reason I decided to participate in triathlons and yoga was because I was sick and tired of being sick and tired. There were days I literally didn’t have the energy to get out of bed. I was lethargic, depressed, and had unbearable body aches. Life felt really terrible. Disgusted at the thought of taking anti-depressants, I looked for alternatives. Diet and exercise seemed to be the simplest and most cost-effective options … certainly cheaper than visiting a doctor and filling prescriptions.

So I skeptically started with a cleanse, similar to this one, and dragged myself out for a walk. The first few days were rough. I was a carb/sugar junkie. Let’s not talk about my bitchy withdrawals. Not fun for anyone. Luckily, after a week of resisting the urge to buy a doughnut, a bagel, ANYTHING made with flour, I started feeling amazing. Clear headed, energetic, and optimistic. I felt like a new person; it was like a natural high and I was hooked.

It definitely takes some willpower at first, but then it just sort of becomes integrated into your life. And guess what? There are no side effects! Well, unless you count being annoyingly happy as a side effect.

 

Leave a Reply

