Post-Holiday Lethargy

What do you do after all the excitement and anticipation of the holidays are over? I know what I would like to do: sleep! Thanksgiving to New Year’s is a whirlwind of chaotic fun, carbs and drinks that leave me feeling lethargic and ready to hibernate. Alas, I have responsibilities like that pesky job thing and paying bills. Remind me why adults don’t get winter breaks? Sometimes I miss being a kid.

Unfortunately I don’t have a time machine, but I do have a few things that might help me crawl out of my slump and revitalize my energy supply. NO, not energy drinks which are just sugar, chemicals and more sugar ready to make you crash hard. Here are my go-to energy boosters:

Vitamin D3 – This is perhaps my favorite supplement to keep my moods even. With the lack of sunlight in Seattle, it has become a good winter friend.

Stretching/Yoga/Walking – It is amazing how much movement will help wake you up. The longer I sit on the couch, the more tired I get. Even a short 5-10 minute walk can help battle laziness.

Super Greens – They are not called super for nothing! Alfalfa, chlorella, spirulina and barley grass all act like an instant transfusion to boost tired blood. Plus it is super easy to sneak them into smoothies.

Breathe – You can’t live without oxygen and many of us don’t breathe as deeply as we should. Even one minute of conscious deep breathing will revitalize your body and boost your energy.

Avoid the food coma – Stay away from heavy, starchy, or sugary foods. These will only make you want to nap.

I know none of these are rocket science, but I have found that natural methods have more to offer than the false promises of energy drinks and powders. Get moving!

 

Leave a Reply

